IUPUI named to inaugural class of Excellence in Assessment designees

  • Aug. 22, 2016


INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis has been named as one of 10 members of the inaugural class of Excellence in Assessment designees, a new national program aimed at recognizing universities conducting a comprehensive assessment of student learning outcomes as a means to drive internal improvement and advance student success.

The Excellence in Assessment program -- the first national designation of its kind -- spotlights institutions that are successfully integrating assessment practices across campus, providing evidence of student learning outcomes, and using assessment results to guide institutional decision-making and improve student performance.

Designees were awarded in two tiers, excellence and sustained excellence. IUPUI, along with three of the other nine universities, was awarded a Sustained Excellence designation, reflecting a sustained or evolved integrated campus-level assessment over a period of at least five years.

"This designation is a testament to IUPUI's longstanding commitment to creating and sustaining a culture of evidence," said Stephen Hundley, senior advisor to the chancellor for planning and institutional improvement. "As a campus, we are fortunate to have benefited from the work of my predecessor, Dr. Trudy Banta, an international expert on outcomes assessment. Through Trudy's leadership, and the active involvement of faculty and staff across IUPUI, we have made great strides in our efforts to improve student learning through assessment. I look forward to working with all of our colleagues to keep this tradition alive and thriving at IUPUI."

IUPUI was an early adopter of assessment for improvement and accountability and has cultivated a campus ethos of transparency. In 1997, IUPUI developed its Principles of Undergraduate Learning, centered on learning, ways of knowing and habits of mind. IUPUI is currently implementing a new strategic plan, "Our Commitment to Indiana and Beyond," that reaffirms student learning and success as its highest institutional priority. Assessment thrives on a campus committed to using evidence-based practice in both undergraduate and graduate/professional education and to building and sustaining assessment capacity through professional development.

The sponsors of the assessment program are the Voluntary System of Accountability -- a public college and university transparency initiative led by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities -- and the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, in partnership with the Association of American Colleges & Universities and the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment.

The evaluation process for the designation includes a rigorous and systematic self-study and peer review by faculty members who are assessment experts as well as feedback that enables campuses to improve their effectiveness and sharing of best practices. Accredited, degree-granting institutions working to implement and sustain the comprehensive use of assessment of student learning outcomes in written communication and critical thinking are eligible to receive the designations. 

The nine other institutions comprising the inaugural class are Cameron University, Capella University, Community College of Baltimore County, Kansas State University, Mills College, Mount St. Joseph University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, the University of Wisconsin-Madison and Zayed University.